The Children’s Book Council of Australia – Tasmanian Branch


Celebrations of the 2017 CBCA notables and shortlist

The CBCA Notable Books for 2017 have been announced, and the shortlist selected from these books will be announced at 12 noon on Tuesday 28th March.

To celebrate these superb books, CBCA Tasmania is holding informal meetings at libraries in the north and south of the state.  Please note that these are not judges' talks.  We will be organising judges' talks and reports later in the year.  These March gatherings are a chance to come along and meet other CBCA members (teachers, librarians, authors/illustrators and readers), talk and look at as many of the books as the libraries can make available.  Children are welcome to come with parents and teachers.

South: Please come along to Kingston LINC (11 Hutchins St, Kingston) from 4 pm on Tuesday, March 28th to look at and enjoy the notable and shortlisted books.  RSVP to Gay McKinnon at if planning to come.

North: Please join with north west library people at Don College Library, Watkinson St, Devonport on Thursday, March 30 from 4 pm to discuss and view the short list titles.  RSVP and directions if required: Felicity Sly or text to 0418 301 573.


2017 Reader's Cup - Southern Schools Competition

The Reader's Cup, Senior Competition will be held on Wednesday, 28th June at 10 am at Mt Carmel College.  The Junior Competition will be held on Thursday, 29th June at 10 am at The Friends' School.

The information and registration form can be downloaded here.

For queries regarding the Senior competition, please contact Cheree Harcourt (

For queries regarding the Junior competition, please contact Meg Denman (

2017 Book of the Year

CBCA Tasmania is delighted to be hosting the 2017 Book of the Year Awards.  The awards will be celebrated at Government House Tasmania on Friday, August 18, hosted by our patrons, Her Excellency the Honourable Kate Warner and Mr Richard Warner.  More information will be posted as available.