The CBCA Book of the Year Awards

CBCA Awards
Find out what's hot in Australian publishing for young people each year!

Every year many children look forward to the CBCA Book of the Year Awards; as do their parents, teachers and librarians - not to mention authors, illustrators and publishers!

There are categories for every type of reader and for every age group. The judges take enormous care to select works that are relevant, well written and engaging.

2022 Book of the Year Awards

Theme: Dreaming with eyes open...


Notables 2022 To Be Advised

Short List 2022 To Be Advised

Winners 2022: Announced Noon Friday August 19 2022

2017 Book of the Year Awards

We are delighted that last year, the 2017 Book of the Year Awards took place at Government House Tasmania, hosted by our patrons, Her Excellency the Honourable Kate Warner and Mr Richard Warner, on Friday 18th August.  More information and photos can be found on our blog and on the Government House website.

CBCA Awards Foundation

The annual Children's Book Council of Australia Awards are funded by generous donations to the CBCA Awards Foundation.  Please visit the national website for more information about the awards and past winners.

Click here to learn about the $1 million Awards Foundation.

The CBCA Nan Chauncy Award

A biennial award to honour people who have made an outstanding contribution to the field of Australian children’s literature. Further information available from the CBCA website.